La Cite Universitaire de Geneve - a big village for 850 residents of 95 nationalities !

History of the Cité

More than 50 years of service for our students

The Construction of the Cité Universitaire

Born out of the initiative of the Former Students' Association - fathered by their president at the time, Jean-Aimé Baumann - who wanted to make the wish of the General Association of Students come true. The "Cité Universitaire" of Geneva, founded with the financial help of both private and public investors, was inaugurated in November 1963.

Buildings A and B have been built by the architects E. Martin and L. Payot, carrying out the Cité's instigators' projects and by Ed. ZurKirch for the Cité Universitaire II (building C), that opened October 1st , 1986. The complex is made up of a fourteen floors tower (building A) comprising some two hundred rooms for students; one seven floors building (building B) offering thirty two couples' studios, several children's rooms and over one hundred and twenty rooms for students. A third building - Cité Universitaire II (building C) - holds 3, 4 and 5 rooms appartments that can accommodate 130 residents and some ten children.


Buildings A and B offer several common areas encouraging the development of recreational and cultural activities. The two buildings are linked by a self-service restaurant and a lounge: the Common Room. And lastly, the "Cité Bleue" Theatre, (formerly known as Patiño Hall) holds a multipurpose room of three hundred and thirty seats and an exhibition hall of 300 m2. The Cité has been built on a 2 hectare parcel, property of the State of Geneva, granted for a period of ninety nine years in terms of surface rights.


The construction of buildings A and B has mainly been financed by private donations. Thanks to a large donation from the Patiño Foundation, the construction of the theater was made possible. Since 1996, it has been known as the Cité Bleue Theater.

La Cite Universitaire de Geneve Un grand village de plus de 850 habitants et 95 nationality !

Historique de la Cité

Presque 50 ans d’existence au service des étudiants

Construction de la Cité Universitaire de Genève

Née de l'initiative de l'Association des anciens éudiants - sous l'impulsion du président d'alors, Jean-Aimé Baumann - qui désirait concrétiser un voeu de l'Association générale des étudiants, la Cité universitaire de Genève, réalisée avec l'appui financier de milieux privés et des pouvoirs publics, a été inaugurée en novembre 1963.

Elle a été construite par les architectes E. Martin et L. Payot, selon les conceptions de ses initiateurs pour les bâtiments A et B et par Ed. ZurKirch pour Cité Universitaire II (bâtiment C) ouverte le 1er octobre 1986. L'ensemble se compose d'une tour de quatorze étages (bâtiment A) comprenant quelque deux cents chambres pour étudiants; d'un immeuble de sept étages (bâtiment B), offrant trente-deux studios pour couples, quelques chambres d'enfants et plus de cent vingt chambres pour étudiants; et d'un troisième immeuble, la Cité Universitaire II (bâtiment C), composé d'appartements de 3, 4 et 5 pièces et pouvant accueillir 130 résidents et une dizaine d'enfants.

Dans les bâtiments A et B plusieurs locaux communs favorisent le développement d'activités récréatives et culturelles. Ces deux bâtiments sont reliés par un restaurant en libre-service et d'une salle de séjour, l'Espace communautaire . L'ensemble est complété par le Théâtre Cité Bleue (ex-salle Simon Patiño) comprenant une salle polyvalente de trois cent trente places et d'un hall d'exposition de 300 m2. La Cité est construite sur un terrain de 2 ha appartenant à l'Etat de Genève qui lui concède un droit de superficie de 99 ans.

Des dons des milieux privés ont fourni les bases du financement de la construction des bâtiments A et B. La Fondation Patiño a financé par un don important la construction de la salle de spectacles devenue depuis 1996, le Théâtre Cité Bleue.